Island tour

Success for Isle of Man Youth and Junior Tour

More than 100 visiting riders raced against a similar number of locals on the Isle of Man Youth and Junior Circuit last weekend.

Sponsored once again by Sleepwell Hotels, conditions were mixed for the three-day event which kicked off in perfect conditions with a short prologue time trial on Loch Promenade last Friday evening.

The men’s junior class was won by Noah Hobbs of Tekkerz CC in a combined time of 3:37:19 for the time trial, a wet road race at Ellerslie on Saturday afternoon and a final road race in the north of the island on Sunday.

This involved six laps of a closed road course in the Summerhill area, followed by a break to the Sandygate and Sulby junction with another rolling road closure to ascend the Sulby Valley and the final tough climb of Tholt- y-Will on arrival a few far beyond the entrance to the reservoir.

Zac Walker of the Utmost Isle of Man Junior Cycling Team forced the pace on every lap of the circuit, if there had been an award for the most aggressive rider in the race he would have got it.

He eventually finished the race in fifth place to grab third place in the Junior Tour behind runner-up (and final stage winner) Joshua Tarling of the Wales Racing Academy.

Walker was just 21 seconds from first place, receiving the Denham Eke Trophy for the best Isle of Man rider on the circuit.

Next local on GC was Tyler Annis in 10th at 2m 15s, followed by fellow Utmost IoM team members Callum Salisbury in 18th at 4.19, Niall Colquitt 27th at 10.19 and James Scott 37th at 25.01 .

Utmost IoM won the junior team award against top class opposition, as there were teams made up of the best riders.

Visiting junior riders loved Tholt-y-Will, some imagining they were on the Tour de France!

Younger age groups didn’t feel the thrill (and pain) of the big climb as they were restricted to the Summerhill course, where Chief Minister Alf Cannan pointed out some of the riders and then waved the flag checkered as they crossed the finish line. at his home.

Dylan Sage (Evolution Racing Academy) won the Youth Boys A title in a combined time of 1h 38m 43s, with Oscar Gaylor (Team RL360) the local best in 15th at 37s, teammates Cian Howard and Ivan Sorby in 21st and 22nd respectively . This latest pair averaged 22mph for the duration of Saturday’s road race at Ellerslie.

The Youth A Girls title went to Cat Ferguson (Shibden-Storey) with Peel’s Ruby Oakes (JRC Interflon RT) eighth at 1m 37s, Nicola Quaye (Team RL360) 11th at 3.38 and Sophie Smith (Team RL360) 16th at 6.09.

Alec Sorby was the top local for the Youth B Boys, finishing seventh overall with fellow RL360 Zach Jones 22nd.

In girls, Abi Clayton finished 11th and Lily-Ann Scott 15th.

East Baldwin’s Daniel Minay was the local Youth C star, winning the boys’ category in style by a six-second margin over Clifton CC’s Zach Hutchinson. Thomas Hutchinson and Bernat Munoz-Fite finished 13th and 14th.

Grace Robinson and Florence Heselton of the RL360 team were the top locals in the C girls, 10th and 11th.

Tommy Bass was in the Youth D Boys mix throughout, finishing third overall, 19 seconds behind winner Cobey Stewart of Stepping Stanes YCC. Cameron Eyres finished fifth, Oliver Kennington sixth and Corrie Brogan seventh to secure the team prize.

Poppy Clayton won the D Girls category by an 11 second margin over Eden Thomson of Deeside Thistle CC, with RL360 locals Bella Quaye third, Tara Nelson fifth and Millie Ward sixth to secure the team prize.

More home success followed in Youth E (under eight) with Oliver Hutchinson winning the boys from Henry Quaye and Isla Kennington the girls.